When Cloud Computing saved the Day

 

Greetings !

A couple of days back, we had a major cable fault in our Office Building due to which the Electric Supply to the whole building   was shut down. As I was leaving for Office, I got a call from the early bird from office informing me of the issue.  I took a decision to work from home. For most businesses this option would not work as the data is on their Office Server . But our Company www.techgyan.com has moved to Microsoft Cloud 18 months back  and are using BPOS  , which has been updated with Office365 .

I could do almost everything :

1)  I checked and replied my emails as my mailbox is on Microsoft Servers .

2) I then opened the mailbox of Service and Sales Team to check if any urgent mails are there. This was done using the feature of MS Exchange where I could open the mailbox of colleagues as I had prior permission to do so.  There were few items which needed attention so I called office( office phones were working ) and informed the concerned staff to handle those issues.

3) Then I went to my Document Management System which was setup on Sharepoint Online and made a few proposals and emailed them.

All in all , I more or less could handle almost everything since  I use Microsoft Online Services which are hosted on Microsoft Data Centres . These are almost Foolproof and work 24 x 7 x 365 , with Infrastructure that only a handful of Companies can  hope to match.

It was an experience which has reinforced my belief in the Cloud Computing in general and Microsoft Online Services in particular.

Have a Great Day !

Suresh Ramani

Microsoft MVP 2009

www.techgyan.com

www.msexchangeindia.com

About Suresh Ramani

I am a CEO of a Technology Solutions Provider "TechGyan" ( Gyan in Sanskrit means "knowledge") . My Company is based out of Mumbai, India . My Company provides Solutions to Customers ( Local & International) around Microsoft Platform. In 2009, Microsoft nominated me as a Most Valuable Professional (MVP). During week ends I provide Redevelopment Consultancy to Societies in Mumbai . The details of the same are listed on www.tdrmumbai.in My hobbies are reading Management Books . Like most of Indians , I love game of Cricket and Hindi Songs.
This entry was posted in Microsoft LIVE Services, Microsoft Online Services and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

