Office365 the next Gen BPOS

Greetings !

After the announcement yesterday from Microsoft on launch of office365 , I did some research today on the same. I have a lot more clarity today . Let me share some of my findings:

1) Office365 is the new version of today’s BPOS

2) It will be available in different flavours for Small Business ( less than 25 users @ USD 6) and also for Mid and Large Enterprises ( USD 2 to USD 27 per user per month)

3) For Small Business , it will combine Exchange 2010, Sharepoint 2010 , Lync (next gen LIVE Meeting & Communicator) , Office Webapps and a Website.

4) Mid & Large Enterprises also have option of adding on premise Office 2010 for a deal at USD 27 per user per month .

5) OfficeLIVE and LIVE@edu will get folded into Office365 .

 

I am personally not happy with the fact that OfficeLIVE gets folded into Office365. That’s a step back . We will just allow many Small Businesses to walk into the arms of GoogleApps Std.

What do you think of this announcement ?

with warm regards

Suresh Ramani

www.techgyan.com

www.msexchangeindia.com

Microsoft MVP 2009

IAMCP India West Founder President

About Suresh Ramani

I am a CEO of a Technology Solutions Provider "TechGyan" ( Gyan in Sanskrit means "knowledge") . My Company is based out of Mumbai, India . My Company provides Solutions to Customers ( Local & International) around Microsoft Platform. In 2009, Microsoft nominated me as a Most Valuable Professional (MVP). During week ends I provide Redevelopment Consultancy to Societies in Mumbai . The details of the same are listed on www.tdrmumbai.in My hobbies are reading Management Books . Like most of Indians , I love game of Cricket and Hindi Songs.
This entry was posted in Microsoft Online Services and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Office365 the next Gen BPOS

  1. Folding up Officelive indeed a step back. There has to be some free option for SOHO segment at least.

    • ramanisk says:

      I agree. Many Customers of Google Apps Standard Edition graduate to Premier Edition. So Microsoft is missing a trick or two here. I’m sure that once Officelive goes, many existing Customers would move to Google Apps Std. Edition.

Leave a Reply

