Office 2010 Beta is here !

 

Greetings !

Microsoft recently launched the Public Beta of its Best Seller MS Office 2010 . As a Microsoft MVP , I was on the Technical Preview program. What I saw was very impressive . Many partners will say what more can improve  in a highly mature product .  I have two things which I feel are really cool.

a)  Web Apps

You can work on your Office programs from your browser . Take my word. The apps work very well.  I know Google Apps has been available on browser for a long time. But it was always a challenge to work on a Excel Sheet on your PC and then upload the same into Google Apps . Some functions were not supported . Now with Web Apps for Office, I have no such worries .

b) Sharepoint Workspace

A few of us have heard of  Groove which is a good collaborative solution available in the MS Office Enterprise bundle . I have personally used Groove and found it pretty good collaborative tool. With Office 2010 , Groove will now be called Sharepoint Workspace . What it will do is that it will act as a Client for Sharepoint . I am quite excited about this combination as I love Sharepoint . With Sharepoint workspace , now I can have access to Sharepoint data even in offline mode. Very cool indeed.

So if you want to try the product , download it from Office 2010 Beta.

with warm regards

 

Suresh Ramani

Microsoft MVP

www.techgyan.in

www.techgyan.com

About Suresh Ramani

I am a CEO of a Technology Solutions Provider "TechGyan" ( Gyan in Sanskrit means "knowledge") . My Company is based out of Mumbai, India . My Company provides Solutions to Customers ( Local & International) around Microsoft Platform. In 2009, Microsoft nominated me as a Most Valuable Professional (MVP). During week ends I provide Redevelopment Consultancy to Societies in Mumbai . The details of the same are listed on www.tdrmumbai.in My hobbies are reading Management Books . Like most of Indians , I love game of Cricket and Hindi Songs.
This entry was posted in MS Office. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

