Web Services from Microsoft

 

Greetings !

Today I will touch up on Web Services offered by Microsoft . Yes , its true. Microsoft does offer an array of Web Services. Its one of the most well kept secrets in Microsoft 🙂

Microsoft just does not have the mind share in web services ( except Hotmail for which they need to thank our own Sabeer Bhatia). When I started exploring the Microsoft Web Services, I was quite surprised to come across the rich array . Let me first list the services:

A) Windows LIVE Services

  1. Mail ( hotmail , a well known service)
  2. MSN Messenger ( again quite familiar to many)
  3. Photo Gallery ( similar to Picassa from Google )
  4. SkyDrive ( online Webspace for your data)
  5. LIVE Spaces ( Blog service)
  6. Events ( online Event planner)
  7. Writer (publish pictures, video , and text to your blog)
  8. One Care for Family Safety

Check on www.windowslive.com   to connect to the Windows Live Services:

 

B) Office LIVE Services

  1. Office LIVE Workspaces ( share MS Word, Excel, Powerpoint on the Internet. )
  2. Office LIVE Small Business ( Domain name, Website and other apps)

 

I am personally using quite a few of the above . OfficeLIVE workspace is quite neat . I prefer it to google apps since performance is better . This is because application loads from your PC and file is stored on the internet . In India , where we still believe 512 kb Internet pipe is HUGE , Office LIVE workspace works quite well. 

Check on www.officelive.com for details

Since my Company does quite a bit of Microsoft Implementations , I try to add some of the above services in my implementation. My Customer ends being more satisfied , and my bills get cleared on time without last minute discounting !

with warm regards

Suresh Ramani

live with Passion 🙂

 

 

About Suresh Ramani

I am a CEO of a Technology Solutions Provider "TechGyan" ( Gyan in Sanskrit means "knowledge") . My Company is based out of Mumbai, India . My Company provides Solutions to Customers ( Local & International) around Microsoft Platform. In 2009, Microsoft nominated me as a Most Valuable Professional (MVP). During week ends I provide Redevelopment Consultancy to Societies in Mumbai . The details of the same are listed on www.tdrmumbai.in My hobbies are reading Management Books . Like most of Indians , I love game of Cricket and Hindi Songs.
This entry was posted in Computers and Internet. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

