Do you charge for Services?

Greetings !

 

A couple of months back , Microsoft had organized a series of workshops conducted by SMB Nation on the Business Opportunities in Small Business Space. These workshops were held in Delhi, Chennai, Bangalore and Mumbai .  During the course of the workshop, participants mentioned that what was the point of getting trained to deliver services when Customers are anyway not going to pay . Majority of participants agreed .

I STRONGLY disagree to this view. Why should you be expected to deliver services free? I can understand if someone does not charge for installing MS Office license. But if you are doing a Network installation involving , say,  Windows Small Business Server Standard or Premium, then you MUST charge for services rendered. The argument used by Partners is that when Customer buys a product worth 45,000/= ( SBS Premium) then he expects that Partner will do complete installation FREE.

Do you know that when this same price conscious customer who does not pay you for Technology services goes to an electric shop and purchases a tube light , he pays the electrician to fix it . When the horn of his car breaks down, he purchases the new horn and pays the mechanic to fix it.  I could go on and on with such examples . The point I am making is that  even for such petty jobs, Customer knows he has to pay for labour. So for Technology Services, why should there be an exception?   If you as a Technology Service Provider take a stand that Services are not FREE, things will change . My Company has been charging for Implementation Services since quite some time now. And rarely have I lost the deal just because I was charging for Services and my Competitor was not. I show the value of my services to the Customer and prove it to him how he can save money and time by using my services . I also explain that in order to deliver these services to him, I have to make considerable investments in people, training and certification.  Usually after this explanation, most of the Customers are convinced. Those who are not convinced, are not my Customers.

The Customer needs to be told that if he pays peanuts, he will only get MONKEYS. 

Suresh Ramani

Live with Passion

About Suresh Ramani

I am a CEO of a Technology Solutions Provider "TechGyan" ( Gyan in Sanskrit means "knowledge") . My Company is based out of Mumbai, India . My Company provides Solutions to Customers ( Local & International) around Microsoft Platform. In 2009, Microsoft nominated me as a Most Valuable Professional (MVP). During week ends I provide Redevelopment Consultancy to Societies in Mumbai . The details of the same are listed on www.tdrmumbai.in My hobbies are reading Management Books . Like most of Indians , I love game of Cricket and Hindi Songs.
This entry was posted in Computers and Internet. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Do you charge for Services?

  1. Abu says:

    Dear Suresh Hi!
     
    Firstly accept my congratulation for leading us.I am also Director of a company who provideTechnology solutions to end users,working area is Eastern UP.
    I am strongly agree with you on this point & really Customer will pay for services if he knows the benefit of Technology & if he donot know,no need to call him again.
     
    Warm Regards
     
    Abu Naim
    Orion Solutions
    Gorakhpur,UP.

  2. Bea says:

    Hello Suresh
     
    I really like your analogy… paying with peanuts will you only get you monkeys… That drives the point home!

Leave a Reply

